Memorial

Today I attended the most wonderful thing. A memorial for a friend’s brother. He passed away in December and was cremated immediately. Because he loved the lake that we live on, his family decided against a funeral and instead held a memorial in the summer at the lake. Three of his best friends spoke and there were drinks and hors d’oeuvres. His family will spread his ashes in the lake later today. I have never thought much about my own death. It is a topic that most people avoid. But today I realized something. I want what he had. I want people to gather and eat and chat and laugh and cry and remember. I dont need a church and a visitation. Shouldnt we all have our last wish? This would be mine. I hope that I may leave this world and be remembered in the same way that my friend’s brother was. It was beautiful. We should all be so lucky.

